Effective January 1, 2017, Missouri will extend its conceal-carry law to allow people to conceal-carry a weapon without a permit. Missouri first passed conceal-carry in 2004, under leadership of Senator Harold Caskey of Butler, which required a permit. A Missourian may still seek a permit for conceal-carry, even though the permit will not be required. Ten other states allow for conceal-carry without a permit.
Provisions Included in Missouri’s New Conceal-Carry Law
- Carrying a concealed weapon will no longer require a permit.
- Carrying concealed weapons will still be forbidden in 17 different types of locations in the state, including airports, government buildings, schools and colleges, childcare facilities, and sporting events of more than 5,000 people.
- The penalty for carrying a firearm into buildings where it is not allowed will be reduced from a felony to a misdemeanor.
- Missouri residents can purchase a 10 year conceal-carry permit for $200, a 25 year conceal-carry permit for $250, or a lifetime conceal-carry permit for $500, however none of these permits are recognized outside the State of Missouri.
- The current 5 year conceal-carry permit will continue to be available for up to $100. This will still be the only version of a Missouri conceal carry license recognized in other states that have conceal carry.
- The local Sheriff’s office will conduct a criminal background check before issuing conceal-carry permits.
- Felons and persons convicted of adult abuse or the respondent in a civil protective order cannot buy or possess guns under federal law, which would still be the law under the new law.
- As true under the current law, a conceal-carry permit will not be required to carry a concealed weapon in your vehicle and a person can carry a weapon openly in public.
Expansion of the Castle doctrine
Currently, a person does not have a duty to retreat from a dwelling, residence, or vehicle where the person is not unlawfully entering or unlawfully remaining or from private property if that person owns or leases the property. This is known as the Castle doctrine. The new law will extend this to include people who are guests of the property. For example, an invited guest to a home would be covered under the law if they use a weapon against an intruder.
The new law will also include a self-defense provision stating that people no longer have a duty to try to retreat before using lethal force if they think their life is in danger.
You May Still Want to Obtain a Permit to Conceal-Carry
Even though a permit will no longer be required to conceal-carry, it may still be a good idea to obtain the conceal-carry permit. The permit could help in court in any case where there is a slight violation such as accidently entering a building where conceal-carry is prohibited. The 5-year conceal carry permit can also be used in other states that recognize conceal-carry and require permits.
Missouri shares borders with 8 different states, each one with a different law relating to conceal-carry. It is important for those who carry to check the laws in other states. For example, Kansas has a similar conceal-carry law to Missouri, Illinois does not have a conceal-carry law and it’s a felony to carry in Illinois, and Iowa requires a permit to conceal-carry.
What to do if Pulled Over While Driving with a Lawful Weapon in the Car
- DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE: It is a felony to possess a firearm while intoxicated with alcohol or drugs.
- Once stopped by a police officer, roll down your window so the officer can clearly see inside your car as they approach. Turn off the car engine and stay in the car.
- Turn on your dome light if possible so it is easy for the officer to see inside the passenger compartment of your car if the stop is after dark or in a poorly lighted area. Turn off the radio.
- Keep your seatbelt fastened and don’t search for documents or your driver’s license as the officer is approaching your window.
- During your initial contact, once the officer is done speaking, let the officer know that you are armed and the location of the weapon in the vehicle.
- Once you speak with the officer, follow instructions. At all times, keep your hands visible, preferably on the steering wheel. The officer will instruct you how to proceed.
If you Get a Traffic Ticket During a Traffic Stop, call KC Road Lawyers
You can depend on the experienced attorneys at KC Road Lawyers to provide sound advice and aggressive representation at all stages of the legal process including handling your traffic ticket. Contact us today on our website or at 816-738-5725.